Who we are

The Society of the Sacred Mission is an Anglican Religious order. It has three provinces based in UK, Australia and Lesotho, Southern Africa.


“To the glory of God in the doing of his will". In particular the Society aims to increase the number of those who give their lives to God’s service, especially by training and supporting those who would not otherwise have the opportunity;  to help people to grow in their Christian faith and commitment; and to support and encourage theological study and reflection.


Members of the Society are men and women who dedicate their lives to the service of God and who make a commitment to live under the conditions of poverty, celibacy and obedience.  Undertaking a variety of work either directly for the Society based at their Priories or with in Parishes supported by them. Members make a commitment of between one and five years with subsequent renewals.

Exploring Vocation or Calling

The Society welcomes people who feel called to explore vocation in general and discern to what future God is calling them. Maybe you are experiencing God calling you to religious life, or to some sort of ministry in the church and you need space and a supportive place to work that out?

Whatever the reason, we welcome people who would like to spend some time with our community, joining in the rhythm of prayer in the Daily Office and helping by working alongside us.

If you are interested in any of the above, please contact the Director of St Antony's Priory, who will be able to discuss things further.